Please enter full postal address and Eircode
All students graduating in any given year will automatically move to ANNUAL (one payment) First Year Post Qualify membership in March of the following year (regardless of when they joined or when they paid the last student fee). To pay your fee in monthly instalments, the member must contact the Office Administrator before 1st March.

By making an application you agree to uphold the IASW Code of Ethics and Practice if accepted.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is elected every year by the Membership at the AGM. The Board of Directors is charged with providing vision and direction for the Association and engage in tasks relating to Membership, Treasury, Policy Development, Journal, Line Managing Employees, Communications and International Affairs. The Directors are the legal and governance structure of the Association whose responsibilities include compliance with regulation and laws that apply to our association, these include: meeting contractual requirements to funders, Data Protection Legislation, Employment Legislation, Health & Safety Legislation, Company Law, Revenue Commissioners (tax obligations), and the promotion of the IASW Code of Ethics & Practice. 

Council is an advisory group of the Board of IASW and Council members must be members of the Association. Council is made up of the Chair of IASW and one representative of each Special Interest Group (preferably the Chair of each Special Interest Group), Committee's and Associate Groups. All other Board members are entitled to attend Council meetings. Additional members of Council may be agreed by the Board.

Do you want to know more about how the Association operates?
See the links on the right to download the Constitution, and the Rules & Bye-Laws.

Do you want to join the Board of IASW? Contact for more information.

2023 - 2024 Board of Directors

  • Vivian Geiran 
  • Colletta Dalikeni
  • Majella Hickey 
  • Gary Gartland 
  • Rachel McCormack
  • Brídín Murphy
  • Claire McGettrick
  • Fiachra Ó'Súilleabháin
  • Sinead McGarry

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership awards are bestowed on a select group of people by IASW. Those receiving the awards have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to IASW or the profession of Social Work in the opinion of Board of Directors.

  • Maureen Murphy
  • Noreen Kearney 
  • Marilyn Roantree 
  • Frank Goodwin
  • Augusta McCabe 
  • Mary Kennedy 
  • Margaret Horne 
  • Owen Keenan 
  • Jill Stevens 
  • Victoria Somers 
  • Eilish Walsh 
  • Frank Moran 
  • Anne Meehan 
  • Anne O’Loughlin 
  • Imelda C. Keogh 
  • Monica Egan 
  • Marie Therese Mullholland 
  • Ineke Durville 
  • Donal O’Malley 
  • Frank Browne 
  • Aine McGuirk 
  • Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy 
  • Bernard Hall 
  • John Brennan 
  • Hilda Loughran 
If you wish to contact any member of the Board of Directors or Honorary Members, please contact E:  or T: 086 024 1055